The Internet should add convenience, not headaches. From step-by-step instructions to helpful tips, we'll help you install your equipment, troubleshoot problems, and get the most out of your online experience – minus the migraine.
Restore Your Mailbox After Inactivity
Last Updated: Fri, 07 Feb 2014 > Related Articles
Learn how the Account Holder can restore an Authorized User's mailbox that is locked or deleted due to inactivity.
When is an email account locked or deleted?
A locked email account
If an Authorized User does not access the mailbox for 90 days, the account is automatically locked for safety reasons. The email in that account is saved for an additional 30 days; however, no new mail will be accepted. All new mail will be returned to sender.
A deleted email account
If an Authorized User does not access the mailbox for 120 days, the account, and all the mail in it, is automatically deleted. At this point the account does not exist so no new email will be accepted; rather, it will be returned to sender.
If you are NOT the Account Holder and your account is locked, you cannot access your email account using WebMail. Only Authorized User mailboxes are locked for inactivity. For an explanation of the two types of accounts see Understanding Digital Identities and Account Types.
|If your mailbox is...||Then...|
|Locked - not checked within 90 days|
|Deleted - not checked within 120 days|